July 4th, 2006

Clockwork Inside

3.5e Magic/Metemagic Feat questions...

Probably two fairly common questions...

The listed reason in the 3.5 PH for a Sorcerer/Wizard to not be able to use armor is that "armor of any type intereferes with the a sorcerer's arcane gestures, which can cause his spells with somatic components to fail." So, with that said...

1) Do spells without somatic gestures cast normally, even if the Sorcerer/Wizard is shod in armor?

2) Can the Metamagic Feat "Still Spell" nulify this restriction?

(please, no house rule determinations, thanks :) )