?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Roleplayer's Community's Journal

> recent entries
> calendar
> friends
> profile

Friday, December 28th, 2001
1:17a - Yet another inane and almost silly rules question...
Disclaimer: Normally I don't care about these nitpicking rules. Normally I just make up something that makes sense to me. Since I'm writing a program For The System, I want it to follow the rules To The Tee.

If a skill (like Spellcraft) requires training to be of any use whatsoever, and I only have 0.5 ranks in it, does that count as being trained (and thus able to actually try a roll)? Or is it after your first full rank that one is considered "trained"? The books are 100% unhelpful on this topic.


current mood: contemplative

(4 comments |comment on this)

3:11a - Need some help from the Brain Trust!!!
Okay... I've got an idea for a Black Company (a series of dark fantasy novels by Glen Cook) gaming campaign with a twist... I'm going to set it in The Weird West (Deadlands). My first and biggest challange is the antagonists (here it comes...)

Collapse )


current mood: working

(2 comments |comment on this)

1:57p - prestige classes
a D&D3e question. In the DM handbook, it seems to imply that any prestige class has an order or guild or troupe or what-have-you. It mentions the assasin guild, shadowdancer troupes ect. But is it possible to have just individuals scattered throught the campaign who have the class and have no affiliation to eachother. Maybe there could be a book with instructions to become a certain class. Or maybe it could only be taught through apprentiship. Of coarse, even if the game doesn't allow such things, I will probobly break the rule anyway, but what are your opinions?

(9 comments |comment on this)

10:11p - Dexterity of inanimate, immobile objects in d20
So I'm implementing AC, and so I'm trying to figure out which bits are the same for anything with AC (items, creatures, etc), and which bits just go to creatures (including animated objects). In the D&D PHB on page 135 it says (emphasis my own):
An inanimate, immobile object has an AC of 10 + its Dexterity modifier (-5 for no Dexterity) + its size modifier.

Is there any event that would cause an inanimate, immoblie object to even have that wouldn't convert it into an animate object instead? Or were the writers just saying, "everything starts off at 10 AC, but inanimate objects really just start out at 5"?

(My usual Disclaimer applies here. I'm not a rules lawyer. Although I'm starting to enjoy picking apart the system this way)

(6 comments |comment on this)


<< previous day [calendar] next day >>
> top of page
LiveJournal.com